top of page


We are part of the Leicester West Methodist Circuit, which is comprised of Ten churches, the other nine being Anstey, Epworth (Blackbird Road), Glenfield, Huncote, Leicester Forest East, New Parks, Ratby, St. Andrews (Glenfield Road East) and Trinity (Narborough Road).  On occasions, the Circuit churches join together for Circuit Services and other special events.  The Circuit website is currently being reconstructed; when it is up and running again we will provide a link.

The Methodist Church is still organised in a methodical way using many of the structures introduced by its founder, John Wesley. However, the Church is quite pragmatic, and is willing to make changes where they seem desirable. 

Structures are there to enable decision making that takes account of all concerns and views within the Church. No one is given supreme authority - consultation is vital. At the same time, churches cannot simply arrange their own affairs, but have some shared disciplines and ways of working.

The circuit is normally a group of churches served by a team of ministers. Occasionally there are circuits with only one minister. A minister will have pastoral charge of one or more churches, but will preach and lead worship in different local churches in the circuit, along with local preachers. The arrangements for leading worship in a circuit are drawn up in a quarterly Plan.

The circuit is led by the superintendent minister who presides over the circuit staff (both lay and ordained) and the circuit meeting, and with lay and ordained colleagues facilitates and encourages mission throughout the circuit. He or she is also responsible for drawing up the Plan and arranging the gathering of information about activities (eg baptisms, weddings, and funerals) and about membership statistics in the circuit.

bottom of page